American Dairy Science Association honors FVSU’s Young Park

Dr. Young Park, a Fort Valley State University professor of food science, is the first from an 1890 land-grant university to win the Milk Industry Foundation and Kraft Foods Teaching Award in the program’s history.

August 15, 2012 – When Dr. Young Park, a Fort Valley State University professor of food science, made history during the American Dairy Science Association (ADSA) Awards ceremony in July, his first priority was to help his students by giving back financially.

On July 17, The American Dairy Science Association recently awarded Park the Milk Industry Foundation and Kraft Foods Teaching Award in Dairy Science and Manufacturing. The professor received a plaque and a stipend, in honor of his win, during the ASDA Awards Program held in Phoenix, Ariz. Park is the first and only recipient of this prestigious national and internationally-recognized honor from an 1890 land-grant institution since the award’s inception in 1955. The professor graciously donated a portion of his stipend back to FVSU’s general scholarship fund to help future, deserving students graduate.

“I was very happy to represent the Fort Valley State University at the award ceremony in front of national and international audience,” said Park.

The ceremony was part of the Joint Annual Meeting sponsored by the American Dairy Science Association, American Society of Animal Science, Canadian Society of Animal Science and Mexican Society of Animal Production from July 15 to 19. Approximately 3,000 scientists from 49 countries around the world attended and presented their research findings at the conference. Additionally, there were 2,300 oral and poster presentations and 40 symposia sessions in various expertise areas of dairy and animal science.

Dr. Young Park receives his award during the ADSA Awards Program in Phoenix, Ariz.
The teaching award is given to a scientist or educator in the field of dairy science and dairy foods area who made exemplary contributions to teaching undergraduate and graduate students. The nominee must reside in the United States, Canada and Mexico and be an American Dairy Science Association member for more than five successive years.

This isn’t the first time the ADSA honored Park for his outstanding achievements. Three years ago, the ADSA also awarded the scientist its 2009 Land O’Lakes, Inc. Achievement Award at its annual meeting in Montreal, Canada. This award is given to outstanding scientists who have made exceptional contributions and advancements in dairy science, processing technology and dairy foods research fields. In 2007, The University System of Georgia also awarded the dairy professor its John W. Blassingame Outstanding Scholar Award. Park, who received a stipend with these awards, donated a portion to the university’s scholarship fund each time.

“I gave this money voluntarily,” said Park. “I have continued to support the student scholarship fund, and not just one time. I will probably give more in the future. I have been through many difficult times and financial situations throughout my education, so I [wanted] to give my assistance to students who [are] struggling with their educational expenses and help them reach their goals.”


President Larry E. Rivers congratulates Dr. Park for his achievements.
Dr. Melody L. Carter, FVSU’s vice president of external affairs and executive director of the FVSU Foundation, Inc., believes that Park’s generosity is an example that many FVSU faculty and staff members should follow.

“Every member of the faculty and staff are important to the success of the Fort Valley State University,” said Carter. “As a campus community, we work together daily to empower the dreams of our students. Gifts like Dr. Park’s contribute toward our student’s success and make a lasting impact on our university. By adding “donor” to a faculty and/or staff member’s title, they demonstrate their belief in our mission and their commitment to secure our future as a leading university both academically and philanthropically.”

Park currently serves as the national chair of the Dairy Foods Division of the ADSA for 2011-2012. In addition to his award, the dairy professor chaired the division’s international symposia.

To learn more about Park’s award, call (478) 827-3089. To become anFVSU donor, contact the Foundation Office, (478) 825-6474 or visit



Christina D. Milton, writer
Office of Marketing and Communications
(478) 825-6319,