Bartley is 2011 Hall of Fame inductee

August 17, 2011 – Fort Valley State University Head Women’s Basketball Coach Lonnie Bartley will mark another milestone in his incomparable career. Bartley joins a list of over 250 distinguished alumni from historically Black colleges and universities with his induction into the National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame 6 p.m. Friday, Sept. 23. The 1983 graduate of FVSU and members of the 2011 class will receive the distinction during the 26th Annual Hall of Fame Signature Induction Ceremony at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Atlanta, Georgia.

Each year, since 1986, the National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame Foundation, Inc. recognizes distinguished alumni from HBCUs for lifetime and exceptional achievements in the art and entertainment industry; athletics; business; community service; education; faith and theology; government; law; medicine/science.

Bartley is the foundation’s 2011 inductee in athletics. He joins such legendary figures as the late Grambling University Head Football Coach Eddie Robinson, NBA great Willis Reed, the NFL’s late Walter Payton, MLB hall of famer Louis Brock and U.S. Olympian Edwin Moses.

In 27 seasons as head coach of the FVSU Lady Wildcats, Bartley compiled a 594-204 record. He has won more games than any coach of HBCU women’s basketball on the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division II level. Overall, he is second behind the late Nelson Brownlee of Claflin University (623 wins, all in NAIA competition), for the most wins in HBCU women’s basketball.

Under Bartley’s leadership, the Lady Wildcats won 10 Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championships, including the 2011 title. Since taking over the program’s reigns in 1984, his teams have won 20 or more games in a season for 20 consecutive years; received 18 invitations to the NCAA Tournament; and advanced to the round of “Sweet Sixteen” twice.

Other 2011 inductees include:

  • Pearl Cleage, Spelman College (Arts & Entertainment);
  • Johnnie B. Booker, Hampton University (Business/Industry);
  • Ruth B. Crawford, Paine College (Community Service);
  • Dr. Henry N. Tisdale, Claflin University (Education);
  • Rev. Charles B. Jackson, Jr., Benedict College (Faith and Theology);
  • The Hon. Henry M. Michaux, Jr., North Carolina Central University (Government);
  • The Hon. Brenda Hill Cole, Clark Atlanta University (Law);
  • Vice Admiral Regina M. Benjamin, Morehouse School of Medicine (Medicine/Science); and
  • Lifetime Achievement recipients Dr. Ruth Simmons, Dillard University, and the courageous Freedom Riders of Tennessee State University

“I am completely humbled by this award and to be mentioned in the same breath with such a distinguished group of Americans,” said Bartley. “Never in my wildest dreams would I have imagined that my involvement in a profession that I truly love would have led to this type recognition. To everyone involved in the selection process, I extend my heartfelt gratitude.”

To purchase tickets to the 26th Annual Hall of Fame Signature Induction Ceremony, please call the National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame Foundation at (404) 524-1106.

-Wildcats Athletic-