image description  

Student Organizations

Message from the Dean of Students

Welcome to Fort Valley State University!

We are truly excited to have you join our Wildcat family to pursue your educational endeavors on the collegiate level. The University continues to work hard to maintain a standard of excellence that encourages leadership development, scholarship and service to both the campus and local communities.

The Office of Campus Life which serves under the Division of Student Success strives to provide a student centered educational environment that encourages all students to think critically and creatively. We also nurture students as they develop values and ethics, promote respect for human diversity while empowering them to make responsible choices as part of their healthy emotional, physical and spiritual lifestyle. As part of your collegiate experience at FVSU, you will have an opportunity to explore a variety of extracurricular activities which include student organizations, departmental associations and leadership development. Staff members in the Office of Campus Life are available to assist you with your interests by way of phone (478/825-6292) or feel free to send an e-mail directly to me: keesew@fvsu.edu

Again, I look forward to having you and other classmates who are among the best and brightest, accomplish your collegiate goals at Fort Valley State University, become proud graduates and productive citizens in society. Keep up the good work!!
Sincerely,

Wallace W. Keese
Dean of Students

Stay connected with campus activities by registering at orgsync.com.
Follow us on Twitter @WILDCATLIFE

  • Wallace Keese
    Dean of Students
    keesew@fvsu.edu

    Brian Byrd
    Assistant Director
    byrdb@fvsu.edu

    Annette Burgess
    Coordinator for Leadership and Character Development
    burgessa01@fvsu.edu

    Governor H. Henderson, III
    Assistant Student Programs Coordinator
    hendersong@fvsu.edu

    Mailing Address

    The Office of Campus Life
    Suite 210 Student Amenities Center
    Fort Valley State University
    1005 State University Drive
    Fort Valley, GA 31030

    Phone: 478-825-6290
    Fax: 478-825-6356

  • Agricultural Economics Club

    Advisor: Mohammed Ibrahim, ibrahimm@fvsu.edu


    Agricultural Engineering Technology Club

    Membership: agricultural engineering majors with a GPA of at least 2.0
    Advisor: Archie Williams, Williamsa01@fvsu.edu


    Agri-Demic Forum

    Membership: all agriculture majors
    Meets: four times a semester
    Mission: to develop leadership skills
    Advisers: Archie Williams
    Current president:


    Alpha Lambda Delta

    Advisor: Jerry Haywood, Haywoodj@fvsu.edu


    Alpha Phi Alpha

    Advisor: Ashley Ballard, ballarda@fvsu.edu


    Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Incorporated

    Advisor: Alicia Livatt,
    President:Erica Muckle
    Vice-President: Arielle Thompson
    Secretary: Merchantis Gardner


    Alpha Kappa Mu

    Advisor: Jeraldine Walker, walkerj@fvsu.edu


    American Chemical Society

    Advisor: Robin Bright, brightr@fvsu.edu


    Animal Science Club

    Advisor: ,


    Association of Computing Machinery

    Advisor: Dr. Swanier, swanierc@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Britney Sylvain


    Baptist Student Union

    Advisor: Mrs. Margaret McCormick/Mrs. Annette Burgess, burgessa01@fvsu.edu


    Black Men with Initiative

    Advisor: (Cesquinn Curtis- former advisor),
    Current President: Brandon M. Jones


    Broadcasters Club

    Advisor:


    Campus Activities Board (C.A.B.)

    Advisor: Brian Byrd,byrdb@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Joshua Thomas


    Chi Sigma Iota Academic & Professional Honor Society International Zeta Upsilon sigma Chapter

    Advisor:


    Christian Fellowship Society

    Advisor:Dr. Amaris Baraka, barakaa@fvsu.edu
    President: Queshia Glover


    Creative Writing

    Advisor:,


    Criminal Writing Club

    Advisor: Preston Martin, pfmcrimlaw@bellsouth.net


    Delta Sigma Theta

    Advisor: Michelle Bailey, Dst06fvac@bellsouth.net
    President: Brittney Crockett
    Vice President: Christyn Hicks
    Secretary: Kristen Brown


    Designers Guild of FVSU

    Advisor: Bobby Dickey, dickeyb@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Xavier Wright, xavier-art08@hotmail.com


    Electronic Engineering Technology Club (EET)

    Advisor: Alfred L. Gillis II, gillisa@fvsu.edu
    Current President:


    English Club

    Advisor:
    Current President:


    Equestrian Club

    Advisor: Sara Dzimianski, dzimianskis@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Tonya Barlow, Tbarlow92@hotmail.com


    Family & Consumer Sciences Club

    Advisor: Vivian Fluellen, fluellenv@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Jimeca Lawrence, jimeca_lawrencwe@hotmail.com


    Future Farmers of America (FFA)

    Advisor: Dr. Curtis Borne, bornec@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Christina Sanders, Cjsanders.aged@gmail.com


    Gamma Sigma Sigma National Service Sorority Inc.

    President: Camara Mackie
    Service Vice-President: Rickell Hardaway
    Email: gssdtc_fvsu@yahoo.com
    Advisor: Desmond Williams
    Email: williamsd@fvsu.edu


    Georgia Association of Educators Student Program(GAESP)

    Advisor: Dr. Alfrieda Manson, mansona@fvsu.edu
    Current President:


    Habitat for Humanity

    Advisor:Rose Petties, pettiesr@fvsu.edu
    Current President


    JC Hill Forensic Society

    Advisor: Dr. Andrew Lee, leea@fvsu.edu
    Current President:


    Joseph Adkins Players

    Advisor:Dr. Maisha Akbar,
    Current President: Brittany Carter,


    Kappa Delta Epsilon

    Advisor: Davine Watson, watsond@fvsu.edu
    Current President:


    Marketing Club

    Advisor:
    Current President:


    Math Club

    Advisor: Dr. Chitsonga, chitsongas@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Fayon Atkinson, fayonatkinson@yahoo.com


    Minorities in Agriculture Natural Resources & Related Sciences (MANRRS)

    Advisor:Erika Styles, Karla Martin
    Current President:


    Minority Association of Premedical Students

    Advisor: Dr. Devin Horton, hortond@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Oberziner V. White, Owhite3@wildcat.fvsu.edu


    Minority, International, and Diverse Students (MINDS)

    Advisor:
    Current President


    National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)

    Advisor: Willie Foster,
    Current President: Kaiya Harris


    National Association of Black Accountants (NABA)

    Advisor: Dr. Regina Ivory Butts
    Email: ivoryr@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Monterius Rush
    Email: mrush1@wildcat.fvsu.edu
    Vice-President: Richard Horne
    Secretary: LaToya Johnson
    Screp: Darius Thompson
    Treasurer: Ashley Jackson
    Parliamentarian: Artis Clanton, Jr.


    National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)

    Advisor:Dr. Haixin Wangh, whangh@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Marci Early


    Non-traditional Student Association

    Advisor:
    Current President


    Psychology Club

    Advisor:
    Current President:


    Reserve Officers' Training Corps (ROTC)

    Advisor:
    Current President:


    Society for the Advancement of Management

    Advisor: Christopher Torrence, torrancec@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Willie Lamar, III wlamar@wildcat.fvsu.edu


    Science Club

    Advisor:
    Current President:


    Sigma Tau Delta, International English Honor Society

    Advisor:
    Current President:


    Student Ambassadors

    Advisor: Annette Burgess, burgessa01@fvsu.edu
    Current President:Ebony Guidry, guidrye@fvsu.edu


    Phi Alpha Theta National Honor Society in History

    Advisor:
    Current President:


    Peachite

    Advisor: Tauheedah Asad,
    Current President:Horace Holloway


    Pi Gamma Mu International Honor Society in Social Sciences

    Advisor: Dr. Meigan Fields, fieldsm@fvsu.edu
    Current President:


    Political Science Student Association

    Advisor:Dr. Meigan Fields, fieldsm@fvsu.edu
    Current President:


    Phi Beta Lambda, Pi Upsilon Chapter

    Advisor: Dr. Karl Lawrence
    President - LaToya Johnson
    Vice President - Lateishae baker
    Secretary - Taneisha Reed
    Treasurer - Monterius Rush
    Reporter - Ashley Jackson
    Historian - Stephen Crookson
    Parliamentarian - Altony Hall


    Pre-Alumni Council

    Advisor: Clara Braswell, braswellc@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Jessica Goodwin


    Student Government Association

    Advisor: Brian Byrd, byrdb@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Fred Hammonds, Fhammon1@wildcat.fvsu.edu


    Students in Free Enterise (SIFE)

    Advisor:
    Current President:


    Students Veterans Organization

    Advisor: Robert Johnson, johnsonr@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Franklin Campbell, Delano21@netzero.net


    Social Work Club

    Advisor:
    Current President:


    Toastmasters

    Advisor: Tonya Moore, mooret@fvsu.edu
    Current President:


    Valley Girls

    Advisor: Dr. Meigan Fields, fieldsm@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Keniece Adams, Kadams@wildcat.fvsu.edu


    Veterinary Science Club

    Advisor: Dr. George McCommon, mccommong@fvsu.edu
    Current officers as of Fall 2013:
    President: Lycia Thomas
    Vice President: Tirrell Nichols
    Secretary: Kaitlyn Main
    Treasurer: Arianna Hinkle


    Women's Learning Community

    Advisor:Dr. Meigan Fields, fieldsm@fvsu.edu
    Current President:


    Yearbook (FLAME)

    Advisor: Chata Spikes, spikesc@fvsu.edu
    Current President:


    Beta Kappa Chi

    Membership: students majoring in science with an overall GPA of 3.0
    Meets: once a month in the Bywaters Building
    Mission: a scientific honor society that has a legacy "to encourage scientific education through original investigation, dissemintation of scientific knowledge and the stiumulation of high scholarhip in pure and applied science."
    Adviser: Dr. Frederick McLaughlin, (478) 825-6240, mclaughf@fvsu.edu
    Current president:


    Criminal Justice Club

    Mission: to promote awareness in the crinimal justice field
    Membership: anyone with an interest in criminal justice
    Meets: 11 a.m. Tuesday, Thursday or once a month in Room 020, Bond Building
    Adviser: Michael Qualls, qualls@fvsu.edu, (478) 825-6984
    Current president: Shane'e Wilder


    Freshman Class

    President is elected during spring semester.
    Mission: to represent the thoughts and opinions of freshman students.
    Adviser: Brian Byrd, (478) 825-6290/6292, byrdb@fvsu.edu


    Joseph Adkins Players

    Mission: to promote theatre arts in the FVSU community
    Meets: Founders Hall Auditorium
    Adviser: Dr. Maisha Akbar, (478) 825-6387, akbar@fvsu.edu
    Current president:


    Junior Class

    President is elected during spring semester.
    Mission: to represent the thoughts and opinions of junior students.
    Adviser: Brian Byrd, (478) 825-6290/6292, byrdb@fvsu.edu


    Psychology Club

    Membership: Psychology majors. Other majors are also welcome.
    Meets: Every second and fourth Tuesdays at 11 a.m. in room 16 of the Bond Building.
    Mission: To educate students about the current issues in psychology and allow them an opportunity to meet with psychology professors and recruiters from graduate schools, as well as other professionals in the field. We also strive to serve the community through volunteer work and other forms of community service.
    Advisers: Dr. Arrington-Warren, warrens@fvsu.edu, and Dr. Jerry Brenner, brennerj@fvsu.edu
    Current President: Tiffany Wilson


    Science Club

    Mission: To enhance student opportunities of advancement on various levels with each respsective science major.
    Membership: any student majoring in one of the STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) disciplines
    Meets: Tuesdays at 11 a.m. once or twice a month in Room 124, Miller Science Building
    Advisers: Dr. Melinda Davis, davism@fvsu.edu, and Dr. Seydou Samake, samakes@fvsu.edu
    Contact phone: (478) 825-6240
    Current president: Turquoise Alexander


    Social Work Club

    Membership: Social work majors
    Meets: twice a month, in Bond Building Room 016
    Adviser: Ron Hughley, (478) 825-6232, hughleyr@fvsu.edu
    Current president: LaDonna Huggins


    Sophomore Class

    President is elected during spring semester.
    Mission: to represent the thoughts and opinions of sophomore students.
    Adviser: Brian Byrd, (478) 825-6290/6292, byrdb@fvsu.edu


    Student Government Association (SGA)

    Meets: first and third Tuesdays, second floor, Student Amenities Center
    Adviser: Brian Byrd, (478) 825-6290, byrdb@fvsu.edu
    Membership: open to current students with at least a 2.0 GPA
    Mission: to be the voice of the students

  • FVSU Baptist Student Union

    Membership: open to any FVSU student
    Meets: Choir practices at 7 p.m. Monday, second floor of the Lyons Student Center; Bible study at 7 p.m. and choir practice at 8pmWednesdays, second floor of the Student Center
    Adviser: Margaret McCormick, (478) 825-3537
    Current president: Shukriyah Christian
    http://fvsubsu.wix.com/fvsubsu


    FVSU Christian Fellowship Society

    Membership: any FVSU student
    Advisor:Dr. Amaris Baraka, barakaa@fvsu.edu
    President: Queshia Glover

  • The National Pan-Hellenic Council of FVSU

    Advisor: Annette Burgess and Ashley Ballard burgessa01@fvsu.edu


    Officers

    Ki'Undra Jackson, President
    Nedad Jean-Julien, Vice President
    JeRosski Walton, Secretary
    Jessica Lee, Treasurer


    Pan Reps

    Kappa Alpha Psi
    Nedad Jean-Julien, JeRosski Walton

    Omega Psi Phi
    Jordan Reaves, Camerson Rollins

    Iota Phi Theta
    Nahjee Maybin, Tarius Evans

    Delta Sigma Theta
    Lauren Mitchell, Gabriel Halford

    Alpha Kappa Alpha
    Candice Harvey, Carla Hill

    Sigma Gamma Rho

    Zeta Phi Beta


  • Membership Qualifications

    Requirements for all organizations listed below include full-time enrollment, at least 24 hours completed, and a minimum 2.7 GPA
    Please contact the Office of Campus Life for more information.


    Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc., Alpha Beta Chapter

    Advisor: Alecia Livatt livatta@fvsu.edu
    President:Erica Muckle
    Vice-President: Arielle Thompson
    Secretary: Merchantis Gardner


    Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc., Gamma Zeta Chapter (Inactive, Suspension through Fall 2015)

    Campus Adviser: Ashley T. Ballard, (478) 822-1073, ballarda@fvsu.edu


    Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc., Zeta Pi Chapter

    Advisor: Melody Harris, Chewan Evans-Campus, evansc0@fvsu.edu


    Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc., Gamma Zeta Chapter

    Advisor(s): Mr. Demetrius Smith, Graduate Advisor, demetriusmsmith@yahoo.com and Mr. Terrence Wolfork, Campus Advisor, wolforkt@fvsu.edu


    Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc., Delta Theta Chapter

    Advisor: Brian Byrd, (478) 825-6292, byrdb@fvsu.edu


    Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc., Delta Beta Chapter

    Advisor: Francis Caldwell and Felecia Sharpe-Campus (478)825-6454, sharpef@fvsu.edu


    Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., Eta Chapter

    Advisor: Michelle Bailey Michelle Bailey, Dst06fvac@bellsouth.net
    President: Brittney Crockett
    Vice President: Christyn Hicks
    Secretary: Kristen Brown


    Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc., Upsilon Sigma Chapter

    Campus Adviser: Willie Foster, (478) 825-1068, fosterw@fvsu.edu

  • Creative Writing Club

    Mission: to foster the development of creative writers and provide a venue for writers to present their work
    Membership: any FVSU student
    Meets: biweekly at 7 p.m. Tuesday in the Student Center TV Room
    Adviser: Dr. Anna Holloway, hollowaa@fvsu.edu, (478) 825-6791
    Current president: Ileia Smith


    International Student Organization

    Mission: to promote unity through diversity, understanding and appreciation of the cultural differences among the FVSU population
    Membership: any FVSU student
    Meets: 5:30 p.m. the fourth Thursday of each month in room 208, Student Center
    Adviser: Sharon Kurtz Palms, palms@fvsu.edu, (478) 825-6741
    Current president: Samuel Orie


    Royal Elite Modeling Troupe

    Mission: To gather a diverse group of students to unite and present fashion at its best. The desire is to create a classic style of sophistication within the members to promote self-esteem as well as self assistance. The R.E.M.T. reemphasizes the importance of striving for excellence not only in academics, but in their appearance as well.
    Membership: Open to all male and female students.
    Advisor: Preston Martin, martinp@fvsu.edu


    P.H.A.S.E.S

    Mission: to promote and enhance physical and social wellness while being a part of an elite dance team while maintaining academic excellence. P.H.A.S.E.S performs during the Basketball Season portion of the academic school year.
    Membership: Open to female students with at least a 2.0 G.P.A. Must be able to perform Hip Hop Dancing, have a positive attitude, and high school spirit.


    S.T.R.E.A.M

    Mission: Striving To Reinstitute Education Amongst Minds
    Membership: Any FVSU Student. S.T.R.E.A.M members visit high schools and middle schools, youth organizations, and Boys and Girls club to discuss different issues with the students. It is also used to increase their knowledge of preparation for college. The targeted areas of these topics would be academics, culture, social, and health and safety.
    Advisor:


    TRUTH Poetry Club

    Mission Statement: TRUTH's mission is to effectively enlighten, educate, and entertain audiences by way of poetry.
    Membership: Any student who possesses adornment for poetry.
    Advisor: Ms. Tia Gafford, (478) 825-6209, gaffordt@fvsu.edu
    Meets: A time created that is most convenient for every member.
    Facebook page: TRUTH Poetry Club
    President: Eric Moore Jr.
    Contact phone: (229)412-0740


    FVSU Ambassadors

    Mission: To be the frontline student customer service and college information guides to the incoming freshman of the university.
    Membership: any upperclassmen student interested with at least a 2.0 G.P.A
    Meet: a week before Fall Orientation of a new academic school term.
    Advisors: Annette Burgess burgessa01@fvsu.edu 478-825-6629

 
1005 State University Drive • Fort Valley, GA 31030 • 478-827-FVSU
 

Map   •   Accreditation • EEO/AA • Title IX   •   Ethics Hotline   •   Privacy Statement   •   OIRPE