FVSU honors students at 65th Annual Honors Convocation

Student accepts award at the 2016 Honors Convocation.

April 8, 2016 – Fort Valley State University recently recognized outstanding students during an annual ceremony that highlights exceptional academic achievements inside and outside of the classroom during the 65th Annual Honors Convocation on March 17.

During the convocation, keynote speaker Lieut. Col. Joel Davis, a former professor of military science and Wildcat Battalion Commander, gave students advice to help them remain successful throughout their lives.

To qualify for the Honors Convocation FVSU, students had to earn a grade point average of 3.0 or higher.

Dr. Meigan Fields, founding director of FVSU’s Honors Program, welcomed people to the convocation.

“Some students have made an appearance every year at this convocation, and we want to tell them and our other scholars: job well done,” she said.

Later, Davis told a crowd of FVSU students about his personal outlook regarding success. Davis asked students how they defined and measured success.

“I want to share about success that will be helpful with your college career,” Davis said.

Davis told students that success involves ensuring they have a good character and reputation. He advised students to be committed to their local communities and to consistently give back. He also said young people need an inner courage and have the ability to walk away from failure. Davis said as employees, young people should do more than they are paid for, and depend on their college professors to help guide them to the right track.

“As a youths, you have to make decisions that have value in them,” he said. “It’s not what you decide, but how you decide that matters. Success starts with attitude. It is the inner peace you’ll feel if you’ve done all you can to succeed.  It is a model of student success that defeats all stereotypical threats. Despite the opposition and challenges that we face, we will continue to stand tall.”

Davis ended his speech by telling students to continue striving for their dreams and pursuing excellence.

“You are the best; you are the elite; you are achieving excellence,” Davis said. Fields gave Davis a plaque for his achievement.

Later, students received awards for individual scholastic recognitions.  One student, Deja Clay, stood out at this year’s convocation for sweeping several scholastic awards. Clay was awarded the Board of Regents Academic Recognition Award, The Henry A. Hunt Award, The State Teachers Award, The Fort Valley Alumni Award and The Al Knox Award. Clay was also elected to the Beta Kappa Chi National Scientific Honor Society for 2015-2016.

Here is a full list of Individual Awards given during the 2015-2016 Honors Convocation.

Students elected to the Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society for first-year students 2015-2016

  • Mikirra Bullard
  • Renee Bynum
  • Daijah Simmons
  • Juan Simpkins


Students elected to Beta Kappa Chi National Scientific Honor Society 2015-2016

  • Madalyn Bryant
  • Alexis Change Burdette
  • Deja Clay
  • Robyn Hardaway
  • Danesha Lachelle Hunter
  • Janeal Jackson
  • Taelor Jones
  • Aaleyah Janee’ Sharpe
  • Jasmine Andrea South
  • Tyler Williams

Students elected to the Pi Gamma Mu International Honor Society in Social Sciences 2015-2016

  • Ky-mesha Quan-Shay Jackson
  • Kasmyne Pender
  • Kenisha Tillmutt



Board of Regents Academic Recognition Award                                 Deja Clay

The Henry A. Hunt Award

The State Teachers Award

The Fort Valley Alumni Award

The Al Knox Award

Greek Female with the Highest Average                                              Madalyn T. Bryant

( Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.)


Greek Male with Highest Average                                           Jalan D. Tillman

(Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc.)

Greek Organization with the Highest Average Eta Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Female Athlete with the Highest Average                                Abrahana F. James

Male Athlete with the Highest Average                                                Roderick J. Burnette



College of Agriculture, Family Sciences, and Technology

Agricultural Sciences

Agricultural Education                                                                         Brandon Gross

Animal Science                                                                                    ArtRico King

Engineering Technology – Agricultural Engineering Technology Xavier J. Murphy

Family and Consumer Sciences – Infant & Child Development          Crystal Sullivan

Veterinary Science and Public Health – Veterinary Technology         Gilbert Foster

College of Arts and Sciences

Biology                                                                                               Shannalee Sharp

Business Administration and Economics

Accounting                                                                              Hadiyah Walker

Management                                                                            Abrahana James

Marketing                                                                                Danquavious Burse

Chemistry                                                                                Jasmine Cheeves

Criminal Justice                                                                                   Shatara Shine

English and Foreign Languages – English                                             Shikesha Thornton

History                                                                                                 Russell Sims


Mathematics and Computer Science

Computer Science                                                                    Katice C. Williams

Mathematics                                                                            Arnold Eatmon

Political Science                                                                       Jasmine A. White

Psychology                                                                              LaKendra Rhaney

Social Work                                                                             Crystal Johnson


Visual and Performing Arts and Mass Communications

Mass Communications                                                                         Tramell Peeples

Performing Arts                                                                       Matthew Brown

Visual Arts                                                                               Reginald Griffin


College of Education

Early Childhood Special Education                                         Kelly Tidwell

Health and Physical Education                                                            Chaz Lewis

Middle Grades Education                                                        Keenan Jackson


Military Science

  • MS IV Cadet Shikesha Thornton
  • MS III Cadet Ezequiel Rivera
  • MS II Cadet Anthony Bush

• MS I Cadet