FVSU students win big at LSAMP symposium

November 25, 2014 -Wildcat students did well this year at an annual symposium that encourages college students to pursue research in the sciences.

Six FVSU students placed in the top three in the Peach State Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation in the Sciences 9th annual Fall Symposium hosted by the Georgia Institute of Technology in Atlanta, Ga. Accompanying the students were FVSU Chemistry department faculty Drs. Robin Bright, Tiffani Holmes, James Mack and Dwayne Daniels, and Biology professors Dr. Cecelia Dodd, Dr. Teresa Shakespeare and Fred McLaughlin.

“We took 26 students that majored in the STEM Program and nine faculty members,” Dr. Dwayne Daniels, chair of FVSU’s Chemistry Department said. “We had six winners in the oral presentations.”

The Louis Stokes Alliances for Minority Participation program is aimed at increasing the number of students that successfully complete science, technology, engineering and mathematics baccalaureate degree programs, and increasing the number of students that are interested in STEM graduate study.

This year’s conference theme was Excellence in STEM: A Foundation for the Future. Sessions were available for both professional development and enhancement, and featured concurrent oral and poster presentations from undergraduate and graduate student research. An exhibitor fair, which include numerous graduate schools, government agencies, corporations and businesses were on-site to recruit students and expose them to opportunities in their respective programs.

Additionally, an 2006 FVSU alum Dr. Noel Gardner, who earned her doctorate in computational chemistry from Jackson State University in 2013, served as an LSAMP panelist. She currently serves as a professor at Hinds Community College in Utica, Miss.

The six winners are:

Tasharra Johnson 1st place- life sciences environmental

Herbert Sutton 1st place – Life Sciences Microbiology

Erin Sutton 2nd place life sciences environmental

Chelsea Newton 2nd place – Chemistry

Kiara Lipsey 3rd place – Chemistry

Latisha Pryor 3rd place – technology and engineering