FVSU to host annual social sciences colloquium

March 13, 2015 – Students will present their latest research and compete for cash prizes during a daylong conference that honors the founders of Fort Valley State University’s social sciences department. The university will host its 35th annual Banks-Pierro-Bellamy-Rutland Colloquium on Friday, April 10.

During the morning, social science students will present their papers before a panel of judges. The event will come to a crescendo at noon when FVSU student scholars will receive scholarship money to cover college costs. Outstanding FVSU social sciences alums will also receive special honors.

The colloquium was launched in 1979 at the suggestion of Donnie D. Bellamy who served as the chairman for the university’s social sciences division. Bellamy argued that the university should hold a regular lecture series named after the three men that started the social sciences department: sociologists Dr. W.S.M. Banks II and Dr. Earl Hamilton, and political scientist Dr. Edward Rutland. The first colloquium was held April 25-26, 1980.

In 1995, the colloquium committee voted to add Donnie Bellamy’s name as an honoree. His name was officially added in 1998.

Tickets cost $25 a piece and will be available March 15 through April 10. For details, contact (478) 825-6230.



Christina D. Milton, public relations specialist

Fort Valley State University
Office of Marketing and Communications

(478) 822-7589, miltonc@fvsu.edu