Fort Valley State University receives a portion of its operating funds from state appropriations through the Board of Regents, University System of Georgia. This arrangement enables the University to offer high quality educational programs to its students at a reasonable cost.
Registration for classes is considered complete only after students have paid their tuition and all general fees that are required. Students are permitted to attend classes once their financial obligations have been met. Fort Valley State University reserves the right to withhold all records (diplomas, transcripts, etc.) and/or revoke enrollment of students who fail to meet financial obligations to the University. Fees and charges may be paid by cash (Do Not Mail Cash), cashier’s check, certified check, money order, travelers check, Visa or MasterCard. Remittance should be made payable to Fort Valley State University and addressed to the Fort Valley State University, Attn: University Cashier, 1005 State University Drive, Fort Valley, GA 31030. Credit card payments may also be made by phone (478 825-6433).
Students with an academic schedule of four or more semester hours must pay a per hour matriculation fee along with mandatory student fees. Students enrolled in fewer than four hours are not required to pay the health, activity, and transportation fees. The per hour matriculation fee is assessed up to the Board of Regents policy defining a full load of 12 semester hours. (This is a different definition of “full load” than that used to describe the normal course load for a graduate student.)
Tuition and Fees
Because Fort Valley State University is a unit of the University System of Georgia, tuition and fee rates are set by the University System of Georgia. The University reserves the right to change its fees/charges at the beginning of any semester. It is the student’s responsibility to know the fees in effect for the semester during which he/she is enrolled. For up-to-date fee information, contact the Office of the Business and Finance.
e-Tuition – Per-credit fee charged for all fully online classes regardless of whether the student is in-state or out-of-state.
Books – The cost of books varies with the graduate program in which the student is enrolled.
Late Registration Fee -This fee is charged when students enroll after the announced enrollment date(s). A late fee of $100.00 is payable on the first day, increasing $10.00 per day on the second and each subsequent day.
Auditing Fee – Any regular student may elect an audit grading status enrollment. The fee assessment is the same as for regular enrollment status.
Transcript Fees – Students who wish to obtain copies of their academic records should direct requests to the Registrar’s Office. The student is entitled to one free transcript per academic year. Each additional transcript is $3.00, with a charge of $2.25 for the required online request. Expedited delivery is $15.50.
Vehicle Registration – An annual fee is required for all motor vehicles operated or parked on the campus: $50.00 per semester for students.
Graduation Fee – Graduation fees for graduate students are $60.00. In the event that the applicant does not meet all degree requirements for the commencement for which the graduation fee was originally paid, the student must reapply for graduation and pay another graduation fee.
Late Graduation Application Penalty – Students who do not complete their applications for graduation by the published deadline will be assessed a penalty of $35.00 the first day and an additional $10.00 per day thereafter, not to exceed $65.00.
Post Office Box Rental – A fee of $20.00 is charged to rent a campus post office box.
Returned Check Penalties – The maker/student will be assessed $25.00 or five percent (5%), whichever is greater, for handling the returned check. If the returned check involves the payment of FVSU registration fees, a $100.00 late registration fee will be assessed.
Fees will be recalculated and appropriate adjustments made for students who register and then find it necessary to add a course before the end of the schedule change period. No refund will be made for a reduction in credit hours after the schedule change period. (Students should bear this in mind when registering for Mini-mester I and the full term but also planning to take classes in Mini-mester II.) Students who formally withdraw from the University on or before the official first day of classes will be entitled to a complete refund of all registration fees.
The following regulations apply to the regular fees when formal withdrawal is approved (Section 704.04 Board of Regents Policy Manual). Students withdrawing from all courses after the official first day of classes will be entitled to a refund of the matriculation fee, non-resident fee, activity fee, health fee, and athletic fee according to the following schedule:
|On or before the first day of class||100% refund|
|Less than 10% (time) of the enrollment period||90% refund|
|Ten percent to 25% (time) of the enrollment period||50% refund|
|Between 25% and 50% (time) of the enrollment period||25% refund|
|After 50% (time) of the enrollment period||No refund|
Enrollment is defined as the scheduled number of official class days for the semester. Refunds are based on the withdrawal date of the semester class days, not the number of times individual classes have met.
A refund of all semester non-resident fees, matriculation fees, and other mandatory fees shall be made in the event of death of a student during an academic semester. A student who officially withdraws from all classes after the first official day of classes must complete the University’s formal withdrawal procedures to obtain a refund.
Any student who wishes to withdraw from the institution must secure a withdrawal form from the College of Graduate Studies and obtain signatures from each office noted on the form, including the Business Office and the Office of Financial Aid. No refund will be made to students who drop a course. Fully online students should contact their academic advisor for instructions.
Students attending an institution for the first time who receive assistance under Title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965 as amended are entitled to a pro-rated refund of that portion of the tuition, fees, room and board, and other charges assessed the student by the institution equal to that portion of the period of enrollment for which the student has been charged that remains on the last day of attendance by the student up to the sixty percent (60%) point (in time) in the period of enrollment. Refund proceeds from Federal loans will be returned to the applicable lending institution per Federal regulations.