Student Government Association

Hello Wildcats,


My name is Lawrence Gaston Malloy and I am your 2016-2017 Student Government Association president. As the official representative of nearly 3,000 students, I am humbled and honored to serve in this office.

At Fort Valley State University, every student understands the importance of dedication to and passion for pursuing their dreams, an ethic known to us in our university’s beloved Alma Mater. As the FVSU Student Government Association, we are dedicated to and passionate about serving the student body. Campus safety, college affordability, minority inclusion, organizational aid funding, sustainability efforts, academic scholarships, and so much more — all are examples of the tireless efforts SGA members undertake on behalf of the students of this university.

Perhaps most importantly, we want all Wildcats to know that SGA is the only organization on campus that is solely dedicated to representing the interests of the student body and doing all that it can to ensure that each student’s experience in the Valley is vibrant, engaging, and unforgettable.

The FVSU Student Government Association may often be torn on what policies to pursue or what decisions are made with students’ best interests in mind. As your president, I am committed to resolving differences when I can, taking a firm stand when I cannot, and devoting all of my energy in the upcoming year to fighting on your behalf. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns about student life or FVSU in general, please do not hesitate to contact me at or follow me @malloy_lawrence on Twitter.

Our weekly SGA meetings are open to the public, and we welcome all students who wish to voice their opinion on any topic concerning FVSU. The Student Senate meetings are held each Tuesday at 7 PM in the Student Amenities Banquet Room on the second floor of the Student Amenities Center. I strongly encourage you to visit and learn more about how university decisions — decisions that impact your lives — are made.

I will close with a quote from my favorite president, John F. Kennedy:

Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country”.

 As your president, I am charging each of you with the task of doing something unique to make your experience memorable here at FVSU. Together we can and will continue to provide an unforgettable experience for all who join us on the campus of our prestigious university.


Go Wildcats!

Lawrence G. Malloy
Student Government Association President 2016-2017

President: Lawrence G. Malloy

Vice President: Anita Ingram

Secretary (Executive): Kia Raines

Assistant Secretary (Legislative): Alexis Burdette

Business Manager: Nick Finley

Chief justice: Niae Tibbs

Student Affairs: Joshua Butler

Public Relation: Quan Spivey

Academic Affairs: Denaya Key

Community Service: Kaylin Brown

Housing/Food: Janeal Jackson

External Affairs: Imani Williams

Alumni Affairs: Randall Barnes

Pep Squad: Rachael Blake

Diversity and Inclusion: Mercy Grace

Health and Wellness: Raymee Johnson

Brianna LaQuins

Ebone Carter

Juan Simpson

Malachi Browning

Ruth Sanabria

Taylor Redwine

Tynekquia Robbs

Xavia Taylor

Yasmine Moffet

Alzanekia James

Corey Greer

Crystal Johnson

Donnea Campbell

Idali Forte

Jahnitrius Coley

Jamyrer Sands

Kyla Habersham

Miaya Pitts

Brianna Wilder
Daveras Cleveland
Destiny Perkins
Jalesia Sampson
Jaylyn Rowe
Johntravious Wallace
Rocio Casillo
Shermiah Davis

  • Vernita A. Smith, 2015-2016
  • Ariel D. Hill, 2014-2015
  • Rashad A. Robertson, 2013-2014
  • Fred D. Hammonds, III, 2012-2013
  • Dominique V. Nichols, 2011-2012
  • Jared Tolbert, 2010-2011
  • Jared Tolbert, 2009-2010
  • Byron Doyle, 2008-2009
  • Heather Bryant, 2007-2008
  • Constance Collier, 2006-2007
  • Constance Collier, 2005-2006
  • Fred Sterdivant, 2004-2005
  • John K. Coar, III, 2003-2004
  • Latoya Freeman, 2002-2003
  • Howard F. Wade, 2001-2002
  • Crystal Pendleton, 2000-2001
  • Crystal Pendleton, 1999-2000
  • Jerrell L. Saddler, 1998-1999
  • Jerrell L. Saddler, 1997-1998
  • Cheryl L Jenkins, 1991-1992
  • Earl L. Lockette, 1987-1988
  • Earl L. Lockette, 1986-1987
  • Samuel Wayne West, 1985-1986
  • Samuel Wayne West, 1984-1985
  • Shirley Norman, 1981-1982
  • Charlie Riley, 1979-1980
  • Roosevelt Johnson, 1970-1971
  • Clarence Davis, 1969 – 1970
  • Dr.George M. Koonce , Jr., 1962-1963

Hide Buttons
Translate »