Behavioral and Social Sciences

Academic Department

Departmental Scholarships

Banks-Pierro-Rutland-Bellamy Social Science Scholarships are available to qualified student applicants. Each academic year two scholarships are awarded to prospective majors in the social sciences or behavioral sciences (criminal justice, history, political science, psychology, and social work). Each award is for scholastic achievement rather than financial need.

The Laverne E. Ford Memorial Scholarship is available to underclassmen (freshman or sophomore) that are committed to the field of social service.

The criteria for scholarship recipients are as follows:

  • An entering freshman who is majoring in Criminal Justice, Sociology or Social Work with an SAT score of 1000 or better, and a high school grade point average equivalent to a B or better.
  • Applications may also be made by undergraduates who are freshman and would like to apply for the scholarship for their 2nd (sophomore) year. They must meet the criteria established for incoming freshman, and have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better at the University.
  • The scholarship will award up to $1,000 and is renewable for one year. An application must be made for renewal.