Wildcat named to 2016 SIAC All-Conference

Juan Kicks

Fort Valley State University Wildcats’ junior punter, Juan Serna from Douglasville, Georgia (Douglas County), has been named to the 2016 Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC ) First Team Preseason All-Conference Team, as announced and voted on by the SIAC head coaches and sports information directors.

Serna led the SIAC in punting with a 43.0 yard average per punt. He appeared in 10 games, punted 56 times for 2,406 yards and a 66 yard long. Serna had four punts for touchbacks, 15 punts for 50 + yards, and 15 punts inside the 20 yard line.

Fort Valley State is picked to finish third in the eastern division with 49 points, while Albany State University to finish first with 14 first-place votes and 78 points. Morehouse College picked to finish second, Clark Atlanta University and Benedict College rounds out the predicted order of finish in the east.

In the western division, Miles College was picked to finish first, with eight first-place votes and 72 points. Tuskegee University was voted to finish second with seven first place votes and 69 points. Central State University, Lane College and Kentucky State University followed.


1.     Albany State (14) 78
2.     Morehouse (2) 52
3.     Fort Valley State (1) 49
4.     Clark Atlanta 29
5.     Benedict 22


1.     Miles (8) 72
2.     Tuskegee (7) 69
3.     Central State 34
4.     Lane (1) 27
5.     Kentucky State 25


Offensive Player of the Year: Jarvis Small, Albany State

Defensive Player of the Year: Julian Morgan, Tuskegee


2016 SIAC Preseason Football First Team


QB David Whipple Miles Senior Gordon, GA
TE Leo Gilbert Tuskegee Senior Miami, FL
WR Desmond Reece Tuskegee R-Senior Valley, AL
WR Quadrey Simmons Albany State Junior Cope, SC
RB Jamarcus Nance Miles Senior Muscle Shoals, AL
RB Jarvis Small Albany State Senior Brunswick, GA
OL Chris Ruffin Miles Junior Bessemer, AL
OL Leeward Brown Tuskegee Junior Miami, FL
OL Javoris Wilburn Albany State Senior Warrenton, GA
OL Marcus Campbell Kentucky State Sophomore Radcliff, KY
OL Tedrick Cofield Albany State Junior Atlanta, GA
DL Grover Stewart Albany State Senior Camillia, GA
DL Julian Morgan Tuskegee Senior Lithia Spring, GA
DL Daryl George Tuskegee Senior Douglasville, GA
DL Bretton Ervin Kentucky State Sophomore Louisville, KY
LB Deonate Gary Central State Senior Lakeland, FL
LB Javonte Kelly Lane Senior Memphis, TN
LB Osband Thompson Tuskegee Junior Miami,FL
DB Clim Robbins Central State Senior West Orlando, FL
DB Jonah McCutcheon Tuskegee R-Junior Mobile, AL
DB Nick Scott Albany State Senior Ellabell, GA
DB Nehemiah Coward Central State Senior Clermont, FL
K Nick Christiansen Miles Junior Clayton, NC
P Juan Serna Fort Valley State Junior Douglasville, GA
KR Amyr Smith Morehouse Sophomore Atlanta, GA
PR Amyr Smith Morehouse Sophomore Atlanta, GA