Fast Facts

Fort Valley State University was founded in 1895 as Fort Valley High and Industrial School. The university is one of Georgia’s two land-grant institutions and one of the state’s ten historically black colleges and universities.


FVSU’s mission is to provide educational advancement with an emphasis upon fulfilling commitments that our community has collectively undertaken.


Fort Valley State University remains Georgia’s only 1890 land-grant institution, and one of the state’s three public, historically black colleges and universities. Located in Fort Valley, Ga., the campus was originally chartered in 1895 as Fort Valley High and Industrial School. FVHIS merged with State Teachers and Agricultural College of Forsyth in 1939 to become Fort Valley State College. The University System of Georgia’s Board of Regents later granted FVSC a university status in June 1996.

Former Presidents

Dr. Horace M. Bond (1939–1945)

Dr. Cornelius V. Troup (1945–1966)

Dr. W. W. E. Blanchet (1966–1973)

Dr. Cleveland W. Pettigrew (1973–1982)

Dr. Luther Burse (1983–1991)

Dr. Oscar L. Prater (1991–2000)

Dr. Kofi Lomotey (2001–2005)

Dr. Larry Rivers (2006–2013)

Dr. Ivelaw Griffith (2013-2014)


The Georgia Board of Regents named Dr. Paul Jones as the tenth president of Fort Valley State University during their Nov. 10 meeting. Jones served as interim president of Darton State College, a University System of Georgia state college.

As interim president of Darton State College, Dr. Jones has focused on improving the administrative functions of the college by creating an enrollment management division, legal affairs and internal audit departments; restructuring academic divisions into three schools and resolving some audit, accreditation and fiscal challenges.

During Jones’ interim presidency at Darton State College, the campus expanded its online degree offerings by adding four new baccalaureate online degrees. Fort Valley State’s new president also established new articulation agreements with Albany State University, which allow Darton State College students to seamlessly earn a bachelor’s degree.

Dr. Jones’ employment background includes serving as chief budget officer and interim president at Georgia College and State University. While at GCSU, he worked in several interim roles including as the institution’s president, assistant to the president, vice president of academic affairs. He also held the positions of vice president and chief of staff and vice president for institutional research and enrollment management. He also held a tenured faculty position at Georgia College as professor of educational administrator.

In 2007, Jones was named an American Council on Education Fellow, the nation’s premier higher education leadership program and served at the University of West Florida. He and his wife Sylvia were named 2012 Alumni of the Year at Utah State University.

Dr. Jones also served as a board member of the Goodwill Industries of Middle Georgia and the Central Savannah River Area and Washington County Archway Partnership Executive Committee, and a trustee on the Georgia College Foundation. He is also a member of the Milledgeville Rotary.

Dr. Jones holds a doctorate of philosophy degree in education and human resource studies from Colorado State University and a bachelor’s and master’s degree from Utah State University.

Jones and his wife, Sylvia, have two children, Isaiah and Daphne.

FVSU is a member of the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference and a NCAA Division II member.

  • Basketball
  • Cross Country
  • Football
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track&Field
  • Volleyball

FVSU is a member of the University System of Georgia.