About FVSU Foundation, Inc.

The Fort Valley State University Foundation, Inc. is a non-profit corporation established on November 15, 1972, to raise and manage private contributions from alumni, friends, industries, and foundations to meet the needs of the institution which are not funded through state allocations. The Foundation invests and administers donations, acts as a trustee, and exercises the powers of a not-for-profit organization under the laws of Georgia. It also administers gifts and bequests of property and funds for scientific, educational and charitable purposes. Fort Valley State University Foundation, Inc. is qualified by the Internal Revenue Service as a tax exempt 501(c)(3) corporation.


  • Representative Calvin Smyre, Chairman of the Board
  • Lawrence Marable, Vice Chairman
  • Anthony Holloman, Executive Director
  • Cynthia Carter, Secretary

Board of Directors

  • Paul Jones, FVSU President
  • Patty James-Bentley
  • Johnnie Booker
  • Krystal Conner
  • Isaac Crumbley
  • Theodore Daniels
  • David Danzie
  • Angela Fussell
  • Gita Garnder
  • Rufus Green
  • Lou Ann Gross
  • Nicholas “Xavier” Harrison
  • Vernard Hodges
  • Kenneth Howard
  • Jarius Jones
  • Gary Lee
  • Yewston N. Meyers, III
  • Melvin Doug Morris
  • Barbara Palmer
  • Andrew A. Reese
  • Gwendolyn Reeves
  • Charles Robinson
  • Hollis Towns
  • Phyllis Kitchens-Thurmond

FVSU Foundation Annual Reports