FVSU’s 37th Annual Scholarship Luncheon Exceeds Goal of $500,000

Posted on Feb 19, 2024

Today's scholarship luncheon at Fort Valley State University (FVSU) was a resounding success, with more than 700 attendees gathering under the theme "Igniting the Light: A Legacy of Giving." Surpassing its ambitious fundraising goal of $500,000, the event brought together alumni, supporters, students, faculty/staff and distinguished guests to celebrate the university's outstanding achievements and its unwavering commitment to nurturing student success. 

Keynote speaker Stevie Baggs Jr., actor, author and inspirational speaker, delivered a powerful and inspiring address, urging attendees to embrace the spirit of giving back to institutions like FVSU that serve as beacons of opportunity. Baggs poignantly stated, "Legacy is not just what you leave for people, it's what you leave in people," encapsulating the profound impact of educational empowerment championed by FVSU. He underscored the university's motto, "Empower the Possible," highlighting how FVSU not only empowers students to achieve their dreams but also inspires them to achieve what seems to be impossible.  

The ceremony also honored outstanding alumni and supporters who have played pivotal roles in advancing FVSU's mission. Among the honorees, the Maggie Davis Legacy Recipients, including LTC Andrew Reese, Mr. Kenneth Howard, Mr. Y.N. Myers II, Dr. Vernard Hodges, Dr. Terrence Ferguson, Dr. Mathew McRae, Dr. Freddie McRae, Dr. Sylvester McRae, and Dr. Keith McRae, were recognized for their exemplary dedication and achievements. Notably, the McRae brothers, all FVSU graduates who achieved remarkable success in the medical field, symbolize the transformative power of education. 

Furthermore, the Eternal Flame Award, was presented to Anne Gayles Felton, Ph.D., an esteemed FVSU alumna from the class of 1943. Dr. Felton, at 100 years old, embodies the enduring legacy of FVSU and serves as an inspiration to generations of students. 

Additionally, the ceremony paid tribute to the Honoree Award Recipients, including Aretha Hill, Ph.D., Mr. Berry Jordan (posthumously), Mr. Dennis Herbert (posthumously), Mr. Luther Jones, Mrs. Letitia Toomer-Jones, and Mrs. Sharee Lawrence, for their outstanding contributions to FVSU's mission and their unwavering commitment to excellence. 

The scholarship luncheon served as a powerful reminder of the collective spirit and generosity that define the FVSU community. Through collaborative efforts and a legacy of giving, FVSU continues to illuminate the path to success for students and inspire them to make meaningful contributions to their communities and beyond. 

  • Categories:
  • News
  • Home
  • Home Featured
  • Alumni